Hello world!

I stumbled across the world of sponsorship marketing in the year 2000.  I was a raw graduate travelling around the world.  I arrived in Whistler and fell in love, literally and figuratively, and justified an extended stay by landing my first real job in the Strategic Alliances Department at Whistler Blackcomb, the #1 Ski and Snowboard Resort in the world.   My job description required intermediate skiing/snowboarding abilities among other things and although I grew up in the UK (miles from any mountains), I was lucky to have spent the previous year teaching in Japan and learning to snowboard.

It would be fair to say that I had no idea what I was actually signing up for the day I signed my contract at Whistler.  Since then I have been fortunate to have worked in partnership with a wide variety of blue chip companies and their marketing agencies, such as VISA, American Express, Coca-Cola, Red Bull, Labatt, TELUS and Land Rover.  (I have also enjoyed many a powder day and had many brainstorming sessions while riding chairlifts!).  I have negotiated and managed strategic marketing partnerships integrating experiential marketing, events, client hosting, promotions, traditional media, digital media and direct marketing across Canada and the US.

I have learned so much from so many people and now it’s time to share my thoughts and experiences with sponsorship marketing.  Contrary to popular belief, sponsorship is far from writing a cheque and hanging a banner.  The opportunities are endless.

My hope is that you find my posts insightful; I welcome your comments.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

